Welcome to

Michael's 80s (M80s) Soundtrack for an 80s Generation

Music videos, pictures, mp3s, remixes and 80s fun.

Your no 1 place for 80's nostalgia. Enjoy! : )

To message me michaelmouse1967@yahoo.co.uk

Links Are Dead - I Know

I keep getting Emails from people asking me to re-upload the links and music etc. I think people are just getting to those particular pages so are not reading the reason for the dead links.

So I am putting this in place so hopefully people will read it and stop Emailing me about it.

The reason the links are dead is that my account with Media Fire has been closed with all 11,000 files lost. That is why you can not download the things and No I can not re-upload them.

Eventually I will start doing that again when I have found something suitable. In the meantime this blog will be information only blog.

Thank you all


New Blog Forum

The 80s Music and Fame Media Forum is now open for users to chat, make new friends, leave messages for each other and leave comments on the blog sites. To access it click the link below or use the link in the side bar.



Choose Next Artist
pollcode.com free polls 

Tuesday, 11 January 2011

Split Enz - True Colours - Album

'True Colours', the fifth album released by New Zealand band Split Enz, was their first major commercial success. Released in 1980, the album featured more mature songwriting from Neil Finn.

Credited to him is the album's New Zealand and Australian number 1 single, 'I Got You', which also broke them internationally. The U.S. release of the album featured 'Shark Attack' and 'I Got You' in reversed positions due to the latter's success on the single charts.

Originally, the band thought 'Missing Person' to be the album's standout track, not realizing 'I Got You' would become the hit. 'I Hope I Never' was mixed differently for the Australian single release, with strengthened percussion. 'Nobody Takes Me Seriously,' 'What's the Matter With You' and 'Poor Boy' were released as singles in the northern hemisphere.

The album was initially released in four colour combinations — yellow and blue, red and green, purple and yellow, and blue and orange — but would ultimately be given another four makeovers with releases in lime green and pink, hot purple and burnt orange, gold and platinum (to mark its sales milestones), and finally yellow, blue and red.

When it was later released on the A&M label, wild, imaginative shapes and patterns covered the vinyl using a technique known as "laser-etching". When light hit the record, these designs would protrude and spin about the room. The album was the first to ever use this technique, originally designed to discourage the creation of counterfeit copies.


01 - Shark Attack
02 - I Got You
03 - What's the Matter with You
04 - Double Happy - Instrumental
05 - I Wouldn't Dream of It
06 - I Hope I Never
07 - Nobody Takes Me Seriously
08 - Missing Person
09 - Poor Boy
10 - How Can I Resist Her
11 - The Choral Sea - Instrumental

Click the link below to download the album:



  1. I have the laser etched vinyl of this LP. It was released in 3 versions in the US - different color combinations! I just discovered your post... I'll have to investigate your site some more :)


  2. Hi there,

    Yes I was awaire that the record was released in different formats but I only bought the one back then. Thank you forfinding my Blog and hope you enjoythe site. Thank you.

  3. You have to wonder how many people bought several copies of the album just to have the different color versions (a la McDonald's collectors cups or a magazine with different covers of the same issue).

    For the record, I have the cassette and I got the blue and yellow version.