Welcome to

Michael's 80s (M80s) Soundtrack for an 80s Generation

Music videos, pictures, mp3s, remixes and 80s fun.

Your no 1 place for 80's nostalgia. Enjoy! : )

To message me michaelmouse1967@yahoo.co.uk

Links Are Dead - I Know

I keep getting Emails from people asking me to re-upload the links and music etc. I think people are just getting to those particular pages so are not reading the reason for the dead links.

So I am putting this in place so hopefully people will read it and stop Emailing me about it.

The reason the links are dead is that my account with Media Fire has been closed with all 11,000 files lost. That is why you can not download the things and No I can not re-upload them.

Eventually I will start doing that again when I have found something suitable. In the meantime this blog will be information only blog.

Thank you all


New Blog Forum

The 80s Music and Fame Media Forum is now open for users to chat, make new friends, leave messages for each other and leave comments on the blog sites. To access it click the link below or use the link in the side bar.



Choose Next Artist
pollcode.com free polls 

Thursday, 11 March 2010

OMD - Architecture And Morality - Album

Architecture & Morality is the third album by Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, released in 1981. It is the group's most commercially and critically successful album, selling over 3 million copies.

Released just eighteen months after their debut album, it demonstrated both OMD's continuing musical maturity and advancement of their style. According to the album's credits, the album title was suggested to the band by Martha Ladly, formerly of Martha and the Muffins, after the 1977 book Morality and Architecture by David Watkin.

Musically, the album was notable for making liberal use of the mellotron, a mechanical tape-replay keyboard more commonly associated in Britain with progressive rock bands of the early 1970s than with the synthpop of the 1980s.

The artwork was produced by Peter Saville and Brett Wickens. Architecture & Morality was released several times with varying artwork, most notably in yellow, blue and grey but even green versions are available. The original cover from 1981 is light yellow/orange in a die-cut sleeve.

The tenth through sixteenth tracks of the remastered album are bonus tracks and were B-sides from the album's three singles, except 'Gravity Never Failed' which was out-take from the album sessions, originally intended to have been a single A-side, but not released until 1988, as the B-side of 'Dreaming'.

Remixes of 'The Romance Of The Telescope' and 'Of All The Things We've Made' appeared on OMD's next album, Dazzle Ships, which was released in 1983. 'Joan of Arc (Maid of Orleans)' is often simply referred as 'Maid of Orleans', released as a single with the title 'Maid of Orleans (The Waltz Joan of Arc)'.

01 - The New Stone Age
02 - She's Leaving
03 - Souvenir
04 - Sealand
05 - Joan of Arc
06 - Joan of Arc (Maid of Orleans)
07 - Architecture and Morality
08 - Georgia
09 - The Beginning and the End

Bonus Tracks:
10 - Extended Souvenir
11 - Motion and Heart (Amazon version)
12 - Sacred Heart
13 - The Romance of the Telescope (Unfinished)
14 - Navigation
15 - Of All the Things We've Made
16 - Gravity Never Failed

Click the link below to download the album:


No comments:

Post a Comment