Welcome to

Michael's 80s (M80s) Soundtrack for an 80s Generation

Music videos, pictures, mp3s, remixes and 80s fun.

Your no 1 place for 80's nostalgia. Enjoy! : )

To message me michaelmouse1967@yahoo.co.uk

Links Are Dead - I Know

I keep getting Emails from people asking me to re-upload the links and music etc. I think people are just getting to those particular pages so are not reading the reason for the dead links.

So I am putting this in place so hopefully people will read it and stop Emailing me about it.

The reason the links are dead is that my account with Media Fire has been closed with all 11,000 files lost. That is why you can not download the things and No I can not re-upload them.

Eventually I will start doing that again when I have found something suitable. In the meantime this blog will be information only blog.

Thank you all


New Blog Forum

The 80s Music and Fame Media Forum is now open for users to chat, make new friends, leave messages for each other and leave comments on the blog sites. To access it click the link below or use the link in the side bar.



Choose Next Artist
pollcode.com free polls 

Wednesday, 9 February 2011

XTC - English Settlement - Album

English Settlement is an album by British band XTC released on 12 February 1982. The album reached Number 5 on the UK Album Chart and Number 48 on the Billboard 200 album chart.

Arguably XTC's defining album, English Settlement is a significant milestone of the band's ability as musicians and songwriters. Some prevalent lyrical themes include the preservation of buildings, world peace, youthful rebellion, and the frustrations of love.

The cover design is based upon the Uffington White Horse, which is about 6 miles east of Swindon, the home town of XTC.

The album spawned three UK singles: 'Senses Working Overtime' (released on 8th January 1982 and reaching Number 10 on the UK singles chart); 'Ball And Chain' (released 26th February 1982 and reaching Number 58 on the UK singles chart); and 'No Thugs in Our House' (released 14th May 1982).

English Settlement is the last XTC album recorded while Terry Chambers was still a full member, although Chambers did appear on a few tracks of Mummer. The band's retirement from the road, caused by Partridge's nervous breakdown, meant that he could no longer make money as the band's drummer, only as a guest performer.

01 - Runaways
02 - Ball and Chain
03 - Senses Working Overtime
04 - Jason and the Argonauts
05 - No Thugs in Our House
06 - Yacht Dance
07 - All of a Sudden (It's Too Late)
08 - Melt the Guns
09 - Leisure
10 - It's Nearly Africa
11 - Knuckle Down
12 - Fly on the Wall
13 - Down in the Cockpit
14 - English Roundabout
15 - Snowman

Click the link below to download the album:


No comments:

Post a Comment