Welcome to

Michael's 80s (M80s) Soundtrack for an 80s Generation

Music videos, pictures, mp3s, remixes and 80s fun.

Your no 1 place for 80's nostalgia. Enjoy! : )

To message me michaelmouse1967@yahoo.co.uk

Links Are Dead - I Know

I keep getting Emails from people asking me to re-upload the links and music etc. I think people are just getting to those particular pages so are not reading the reason for the dead links.

So I am putting this in place so hopefully people will read it and stop Emailing me about it.

The reason the links are dead is that my account with Media Fire has been closed with all 11,000 files lost. That is why you can not download the things and No I can not re-upload them.

Eventually I will start doing that again when I have found something suitable. In the meantime this blog will be information only blog.

Thank you all


New Blog Forum

The 80s Music and Fame Media Forum is now open for users to chat, make new friends, leave messages for each other and leave comments on the blog sites. To access it click the link below or use the link in the side bar.



Choose Next Artist
pollcode.com free polls 

Friday, 19 August 2011

Japan - Oil On Canvas - Album

'Oil on Canvas' is a live album by the British band Japan, released in 1983 by Virgin Records.

Although it is a live recording of their established material, the album also contains three new studio tracks, 'Oil on Canvas', 'Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer' and 'Temple of Dawn', recorded separately by Sylvian, Sylvian/Jansen and Barbieri respectively. (The name of Barbieri's track is taken from the novel The Temple of Dawn by the acclaimed Japanese novelist Yukio Mishima.)

Although the album was released some months following the band's much publicised split in late 1982, it was ironically Japan's highest charting album in the UK, where it reached number 5 in the Album charts. The album was certified "Gold" by the BPI in 1988 for 100,000 copies sold.

The live tracks on the double-album were taken from Japan's performances in November 1982, during their final live concert tour. Since guitarist Rob Dean had left the band two years previously, Japanese session musician Masami Tsuchiya was added to the line up to play guitar and additional keyboards. The band also used backing tracks to supply additional instrumental parts (for example, in contrast to some previous tours where a guest saxophonist was recruited, many of Karn's saxophone lines were played from tape.

A video version of Oil On Canvas was also available from Virgin Records. This was re-released on DVD in 2006 as "The Very Best of Japan", which also features many of the band's promotional videos.

01 - Oil on Canvas
02 - Sons of Pioneers
03 - Gentlemen Take Polaroids
04 - Swing
05 - Cantonese Boy
06 - Visions of China
07 - Ghosts
08 - Voices Raised in Welcome, Hands Held in Prayer
09 - Nightporter
10 - Still Life in Mobile Homes
11 - Methods of Dance
12 - Quiet Life
13 - The Art of Parties
14 - Canton
15 - Temple of Dawn

Click the link below to download the album


No comments:

Post a Comment